I do not come into the pulpit hoping that somebody
of his own free will, will return to Christ. My hope
lies in another quarter. I hope that my Master
will lay hold of some of them and say, “You are
mine and you shall be mine. I claim you for
myself”. My hope arises from the freeness of
grace not the freedom of the will. A poor haul of
fish will a gospel fisherman make if he takes
none but those who are eager to jump into the net.

Charles H. Spurgeon

One thought on “A Quote from Spurgeon

  1. Hi! I love this quote by Spurgeon. He is my one of my favourite authors, and Morning by Morning is my well-used and much needed devotional.

    I’ve just started into the “blogging arena”, but have already found so many out there who appreciate sound doctrine, the true Word, and Christ in us, the hope of glory!

    If you care to, feel free to visit my blog:
    http://absolutegrace.wordpress.com
    That’s what the focus is one, Grace, God’s work in us, and our Hope that we have in Him!
    God Bless!
    Linda

Leave a Reply

