From the third part of a post found nestled in a post at Parchment and Pen: “A good friend of mine said that getting rid of sin is like trying to get the air out of a bottle. You can do it one of two ways. You can suck on the bottle until you are blue in the face concentrating only on the air, or you can fill it with something else. I had not realized it but while I was sucking on the bottle for two years, God was slowly filling it with something else.”

The aforementioned post is, when viewed in it’s entirety, compelling in the author’s transparency, his brutal honesty in his struggle with his darker impulses. Of the valuable insights that can be drawn from the author’s struggles with self, what most resonates with me, though perhaps unintended by the author is this: no one other than ourselves and our Saviour really knows the baggage we carry on our journey. We who are called by the Spirit are prompted by the Spirit in ways often painful to shed ourselves of those things that will not pass through the narrow gate.
Romans 7:21-25

So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.

Leave a Reply

