Sometimes, when I find myself sprawled out on the couch and channel surfing, I will occasionally, out of curiosity, pause and briefly watch programing on the Trinity Broadcasting Network. I find myself fascinated by the more egregious examples, the pulpit prostitutes, of the prosperity ‘gospel’ in much the way a bird may be fascinated by a snake. At best, TBN sometimes unintentionally endorses doctrinal error and confusion; at worst, they enable con games that prey on the credulous in the name of the ‘gospel.’

As an addendum, I truly desire to maintain an irenic, gracious tone as I ‘blog’, to be respectful, but sometimes, when I listen to millionaire ‘evangelists’…………….

One thought on “John Piper on the prosperity ‘gospel’

  1. Another must watch video on this is located at http://www.justinpeters.org – be sure to click “demo.” Mr. Peters speaks with such expertise on this subject. Here, he gives an overview of his seminar entitled, A Call for Discernment” presented at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary.

    Mr. Peters gave his full length seminar on the health, wealth and prosperity “gospel” at my church and comes highly recommended by my pastor, Dr. John MacArthur.

Leave a Reply

